Turlough comes from the Irish word tur loch meaning "dry lake". Turloughs are lakes that disappear for part of the year - in other words a seasonal lake.
The picturesque village of Turlough, 6km northeast of Castlebar, derives its name from the flash of lake situated below the village, in front of the big house formerly the home of the Fitzgerald family. This stately home is now the Museum of Country Life (part of the National Museum of Ireland) which attracts thousands of visitors to the village each year. Careful renovations of the 18th century house, revival of the elaborate formal gardens and the artificial lake (turlough), and the creation of complimentary buildings, have created a unique destination for visitors.
Situated along the Castlebar River, just off the N5 road, the village is also noteworthy for its well-preserved round tower, built between 900 and 1200. The cruciform church beside the round tower in Turlough dates from the 18th century and incorporates a 16th century mullioned window and a small Crucifixion plaque dated 1625.
Turlough is rich in history and the surrounding countryside is dotted with standing stones, a holy well, fulachtaí fia and cillíní.